ChatGPT has taken the internet by storm

Sign up here:

26. jan 2023
09:00
Free
Online
26. jan 2023
09:00
Free
Online

About the webinar

Join this season’s first EGN Global live Webinar on January 26 at 9-10.00 AM CET with Johannes Bjerva, Associate Professor at the Department of Computer Science at Aalborg University Copenhagen.

 

Possibilities and Risks in Integration of ChatGPT / Large Language Models

ChatGPT has taken the internet by storm and has the potential for completely revolutionizing how writing processes are approached. For instance, roles such as customer service, copywriting and others have the potential of becoming partially automatized. In the education sector, educators and policymakers must investigate the role of including such technology in education systems – is it simply plagiarism, or a tool to be used to make writing more efficient? In times of crisis, it may be inspirational for leadership to encourage the use of technologies such as ChatGPT to create value in business and replace roles such as these.

 

In this webinar

However, is it as simple as just plugging in a chatbot to replace all instances of text production? What does this technology even consist of, and what (potentially harmful) data has it been exposed to? In this webinar, Johannes will begin by outlining the general framework that large language models such as ChatGPT rely on.

We will then discuss how such technologies might be used to create value, crucially with a focus on the pitfalls and significant problems that face any practical deployment of such technology.

 

Times adjusted for time zones

9:00 – 10:00 AM Central European time (CET)
10:00 – 11:00 AM Helsinki time (EET)
3:00 – 4:00 PM Bangkok time (ICT)
4:00 – 5:00 PM Hong Kong time (HKT)
7:00 – 8:00 PM Sydney time (AEDT)
9:00 – 10:00 PM New Zealand time (NZDT)

We point out that only EGN members subsequently have access to the webinar materials: recording and associated hand-outs.

About Johannes Bjerva, PhD

Johannes Bjerva is an Associate Professor at the Department of Computer Science at Aalborg University Copenhagen. His research focusses on Natural Language Processing (NLP) / language technology, with the overarching aim of bringing these technologies to languages which are historically underrepresented in NLP (e.g. Danish, Faroese, and Greenlandic). In addition to leading research projects in NLP, he contributes to the Software Engineering BSc. education at AAU CPH. Prior to working at AAU, he obtained a PhD from the University of Groningen, and worked as a postdoc at the University of Copenhagen.

TwitterLinkedInFacebookCopy Link